## 2024-2025

## INSTITUTIONAL REVIEW BOARD FOR THE PROTECTION OF HUMAN SUBJECTS IN RESEARCH

<u>PURPOSE:</u> The Institutional Review Board for the Protection of Human Subjects in Research

(IRB) is responsible for reviewing and approving applications involving human subjects in research to ensure that faculty and student researchers are compliant with

federal and state regulations and guidelines.

COMPOSITION: The UT Martin IRB shall be composed of seven (7) members with varying

backgrounds to promote complete and adequate review of research activities commonly conducted by the University. Six (6) of the members shall be on the faculty or staff of UT Martin, including the Executive Director of Research,

Outreach, and Economic Development acting as the Authorized Institutional Official. The remaining member shall be a non-university employee. The Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs at UT Martin is the appointing authority for the UT Martin IRB. The IRB will elect its own Chair and Secretary. Five (5) faculty members will represent those departments that would more naturally conduct research utilizing human subjects in the normal course of doing business. No one (1) department may have more than one (1) member on the Board. Board members serve three-year

overlapping terms and may be reappointed to the Board upon recommendation of the representative department/college. Members of the IRB may serve on the Faculty Research Committee but may not serve congruently on the Institutional Animal Care

and Use Committee, except only in extenuating circumstances.

<u>REPORTS TO:</u> Provost and Senior Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs

## **MEMBERSHIP:**

	<u>F Name</u>	<u>L Name</u>	<u>Role</u>
*	Alisha	Melton	Executive Director, Research, Outreach, and Economic Development
2025	Mary Margaret	Chester	Community Rep (voting)
2025	Greg	Moore	Community Representative Alternate (non-voting)
2025	Brian	Carrol	Agriculture and Applied Sciences
2025	Anderson	Starling	Business and Global Affairs
2025	Janet	Wilbert	Education, Health, and Behavioral Sciences
2026	Harriette	Spiegel	Education, Health, and Behavioral Sciences
2026	Ray	Witmer	Engineering and Natural Sciences
2027	Diana	Watson	Agriculture and Applied Sciences
* Indicates ex-officio member of the Committee			